Posted in Writings, Musings & Thoughts💫

6 Lines That The Society Taught Us Wrong

Welcome back everybody!

I actually have no idea how to begin this post (oopsie daisy! *sticks out tongue*)😬, but I’d like to say that often we come across “wise sayings” or proverbs that we most often do not agree with. It was only on a chance encounter did I realize that not all we come across today, is the original version.

Or rather, not all that was said a million years ago has to be true today. Times change and so do our lifestyles and our ideals.✌

I came across these first on Tumblr (it’s such a mind blowing place *whoa* ) and immediately the possible existence of it all, caught my attention. It was a bloody revelation people!⭐🌟

There is More to Proverbs Than You Think!

Infact as a preamble, I’d like to say that many of our “so called traditional practices”, the age-old sayings, actually stemmed from wise people who actually did know what they were talking about and are indeed worth quoting or holding onto had they not undergone a change while travelling through the society; probably by people who were none the wiser.😶

( Hearing about the wisdom of the people of the yesteryears might not be new to many of you.😅 But often I end up thinking that people who crafted societal rules are often patriarchs who had nothing better to do.😅 (WHICH, is also true🤷‍♀️)

Either way,

Here are 6 super common proverbs/ phrases that were originally NOT what you thought they were..

1. Curiosity killed the cat

Nah. The actual version ?

Curiosity killed the cat but satisfaction brought it back.

Humans are born to be curious. If it were not for that, today we’d all be crawling in mud.
So be a curious little explorer, because even if you do die one day, ( highlight: like we all will🤷‍♀️) , you’ll atleast die in peace.

And that, will be called as life, and not death. 🙂

2. Blood is thicker than water.

Bleh. The actual version:

Blood of the covenant is thicker than the water of the womb.

Which means that relationships that are formed by choice are stronger than those formed by birth. Family isn’t who you’re born with. Its who you die for.

3. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Yeah. But an alternate version?

Rome wasn’t built in a day, but it burned in one.

And I think I like this a lot better. On the face value it sounds pessimistic but it shows that even an empire can crumble to ruins, in a day.
So watch your actions, no matter how high a place you think you are in.

4. The early bird catches the worm.

The better version?

The early bird catches the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

I’m not sure if this was the original version, but that doesn’t reduce the truth behind those words. It’s better to be safe, than sorry. So, learn from examples. And sometimes simply trying to be the ‘first’ and to outsmart others, can absolutely backfire.

5. Great minds think alike

The complete version:

Great minds think alike but fools rarely differ.

I have no more to add to this😂🤷‍♀️🤐

But it says that conformity isn’t always a good thing. And that just because more than one person has the same idea, it doesn’t necessarily mean its a good idea.

6. Jack of all trades, master of none

This actually ends as –

Jack of all trades, master of none. But definitely better than a master of one.

It means that being good at everything is much better than being exotically perfect in just one thing and sucking at everything else. Because ultimately that won’t get you anywhere.
You can be the most talented singer in the world but if you can only sing and suck at everything else- like negotiating deals, interacting with people or being punctual, or even having a stage presence and command, then you’ll get absolutely nowhere.
And this is just, assuming you’re stinking rich that you can buy off everything else😂 such as someone to tie your laces. 🤷‍♀️

And as for being just good at more than one thing, this is a real killer. Because ultimately you can choose your passion among one of the many things you’re good at. And it’s your effort that’ll carry you to places. Oh and the other things that you’re just good at? They’ll lift you further up. 🙂🙌

Surprised?

What’s your take on this? What do you guys think?😄 Which one of these took your fancy? I personally adored them. ( Speaking of which, shit I just sounded like Dora the Explorer 😂😂) Let me know what you think in the comments below!

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Too glam to give a damn 💫

61 thoughts on “6 Lines That The Society Taught Us Wrong

    1. The curiosity one was the very first I came across😁 Until then I didnt even realise all these versions existed but they’re just so much better😇.
      And yes both of these are my favourites among the rest! Thank you for reading❤🙌😁

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Interesting. I’ve heard some of those. I haven’t heard the one about Rome burning in a day… that’s deep. I’ve definitely made some mistakes that destroyed things I’d work for in a day…

    Liked by 6 people

    1. It’s interesting to realise that people have come across these because I hadn’t. 😄
      And yes, the Rome one feels like the one I could learn a LOT from too! It’s sad but I suppose these are moments that teach us the most. (Hopefully) Thanks as always, for your thoughts!😁

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Ooh this was really interesting! Yeah when people pick up phrases, they end up getting shortened very quick and instead of the short version being simpler, it completely distorts the original idea! I think all of these were fascinating to read about, especially the “early bird” and “blood is thicker than water” ones. Thanks for sharing Brin! I learned a lot!

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Yess you got that absolutely right!😄🙌 And yeah the ideas themselves seem fascinating and very agreeable too, luckily😄🤗
      It’s a pleasure to share Maggie! Thanks a bunch🤗❤

      Like

  3. Woah. This post is very interesting one. I learned a lot from each and every phrase in it and loved it. Nice one as usual 😍😍👍

    Liked by 5 people

  4. Dora the Explorer
    Wait – surely there’s a better version!
    Dora and the Lost City of Gold
    Yay, that’s more like a story that I want to hear about. Isn’t it amazing how much more inspiring a cartoon character can be when it follows its (her) passion and just goes for it! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha how did you find that film now?😋😂
      And wow that’s a perspective. I haven’t come across Dora being called inspiring but I suppose its true if you think about it?😉😂
      Maybe that’s why it so popular. xD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Popular? Not amongst my segment of the population. 😀 I actually have no idea what Dora is or why she is exploring and I’ve never even seen a trailer to the movie. I’m going to have to assume you’re, like, five if you’re a fan. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha don’t 😂 The trailer was worse than the actual Dora the explorer series and I only know that because my sister is a fan😂
          All the same, I thought only 3 year olds tuned in ?😂

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Shows how little I know. I remember when I was a kid I always had to watch the cartoons that my sister liked (she’s four years younger than me) because she just wouldn’t get the ones I prefered. And yes we just had the one TV and yes this was before the internet was invented (gosh, how did we live without the internet!!)
          So, okay – I won’t. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.